Family Matters

June 23rd, 2013 12:37A.M.

It looks like this is going to be yet another sleepless night. You have to love when your brain isn’t ready to sleep.  Since having my strokes in April,  I have been on the road to recovery and I can honestly say that I am improving daily.  Now if I could only be able to sleep.

During that week in the hospital and honestly not knowing if I was going to live or die(even though the Doctors said I was going to be fine) opened my eyes to what is important in my life.  I have always loved my wife, and at that time we just had our amazing little girl Samaura for just a little over a month and a half, but having my wife in the hospital every day and seeing the look of concern and love in her eyes really made my realize how lucky I really am. In the past I have thought, and said how much I love my wife Jenn, but to have it electrify my entire body when I would see her was incredible. It really has taken my love and respect for her to entirely new level.

My wife would bring our daughter Samaura in to see me and that would be the only time that my eyes would tear up.  Something so small and made from love from my wife and I, and the thought that depending on how the strokes went could make me never see her again really shook my world.

From that moment forward I vowed to enjoy every waking moment with both of my ladies.  Seeing I have been off of work for the last two months I have been able to take advantage of seeing my daughter make many of her firsts. Her first smile, Her first giggle, and her first time rolling over. Words truly can`t explain how I feel. I guess maybe `Proud Daddy` might be it.

I have also been able to enjoy the rest of my family, which to be honest before the stroke I took for granted. My parents are both in the mid sixties and we are all not getting younger. yes since having our little girl we would see more of my parents but after the stroke it was night and day, like a wake up call. Once again, it really does make you realize how important life is and how short it really can be. I adore my parents and I let life get in the way. Working 50/60 hours a week and not being able to share and enjoy each other is just plain crazy. The same goes for my sister Danielle, We had such a tight relationship growing up but as we became adults we drifted apart. Even after my brother Alex passed away from cancer at the age of 37 almost 10 years ago I now look back and know I was talking my life for granted.

As corny as this is going to sound, please take the extra couple seconds every day, and let your wife know how much you love her, how beautiful and smart she is, Or husband, Give you child(ren) the love they deserve with a simple smile and a kiss. Lastly don`t take your parents and siblings for granted. You would be amazed how many times I would say to myself that I need to call my parents but then not call them because I was too tired, or that I became interested in something on the tv. Now family is a priority to me, and also being able to live my life.

Leave a Reply

